Disney Princesses and the Art of Fighting

Well, as you can probably all guess, I am very bad at updating my blog on a regular basis.  Even after I say I will do better.  This has been the case all my life, an although I have hopes to make changes that still has not happened yet.  Keep watching… One day it might.

But let me not bore you with that any longer.  I have so much to tell you!

During the Labor Day week, my family and I took a trip out to sunny, southern California.  It was wonderful.  We stayed in Oceanside, and spent many days down at the beach, lounging in the sand, playing in the surf, searching for seashells, and enjoying the sunshine.  We also got some sunburn, but it was all worth it.

A couple days during our trip we were able to go to Disneyland.  What fun we had!  Riding rides, being amazed at all the sights and people… it was truly a great experience with the family.  We also got to do something that may seem silly (and most likely is) which I, your humble host, was most excited about.  We got to visit the princesses.

Now don’t get the wrong ideas.  If you have looked at my blog much, you have seen the pictures of Disney princesses that I have drawn.  Well, we took those along and were able to get autographs from the characters on them.  See below:

Ariel_signed Aurora_signed Cinderella_signed Jasmine_signed Merida_signed Rapunzel_signed Snow White_signed Tink_signed

As you can see on some of the images, we were able to get multiple signatures from characters associated with the princesses (and Tinkerbell).  We were not able to meet Jasmine, but we did see Aladdin, and he signed the picture.  Additionally, we brought along copies of all the pictures and gave them to the princesses who were all VERY excited to receive them.

I must say that I was extremely impressed with the way that all the Disney cast members (characters, ride controllers, ticket booth workers, etc) presented themselves with joyful expressions, genuine excitement, and consideration for all the guests at the park.  Thank you all so very much!

Another fun experience I was able to have with my oldest daughter was attending the Animation Academy in Disney’s California Adventure.  We sat in a class to learn how to draw a Disney Character (Sully, from Monsters Inc).  It was fun, educational, and did I say fun?  If you ever have the opportunity to go, this is one of the things you should try to experience.

Anyway, that is the fun that I have been up to.  Since returning from the trip it has been a lot of work, interspersed with the fun of a 40th birthday.  But that is life.

Oh!  I also did a piece for a charity art sale/video game tournament going on here in ABQ on 27 September.  It is called the Art of Fighting, with all art being based on classic arcade fighting games, and is raising money to fight and raise awareness about congenital heart defects in children.  It is raising funds for the March of Dimes New Mexico Chapter and Save Babies Through Screening Foundation.  Below is the piece called “Perfect Victory”:

Perfect Victory_color

The original is available at the sale for $60.  I will have prints available for $15 for those interested (please watch for updates on availability).

I continue to work on my big plans (I talked about that a bit in my last post).  And one day (soon I hope) they will come to fruition.  Until next time (again, soon I hope)!

About pbartles

I am a husband, a father, a member of the US Air Force, and and artist. I enjoy drawing worlds of the fantastic (fantasy, superhero, comic, etc) and seeing an illustration pop from the page out of nothing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

